Baltimore Streetcar Museum - United Railways & Electric 417
UR&E 417 is among the oldest existing electric cars; sources differ as to when it was built but it was likely in 1885. Built as a horse car, it was later used as a cable car trailer and then electrified in about 1895. It is undergoing a stunning restoration by the talented volunteers at the Baltimore Streetcar Museum.
Photographed by Frank Hicks, August 28, 2010.
Added to the photo archive by Frank Hicks, January 27, 2011.
Railroad: Baltimore Transit Company.